subscriptionsgeminiclaude

Google AI Pro vs Claude Pro: Price in the US and in Spain

Short answer. On October 17, 2026, Google AI Pro cost $19.99 a month in the United States and €21.99 in Spain, and Google’s pages do not say whether tax is included. Claude Pro cost $20 a month before tax in the United States and €18 before tax in Spain, or less with yearly billing.

In plain words. Both plans cost about twenty a month. Claude’s prices leave tax out and say so. Google’s pages do not say. In the US, Google’s plan is $19.99 and Claude’s $20 a month billed monthly, as printed: almost the same. In Spain, the pages alone cannot tell which costs less.

Google AI Pro and Claude Pro are the middle plans of two AI assistants: Google’s Gemini app and Anthropic’s Claude. Both makers also sell a larger plan above them, Google AI Ultra and Claude Max. Google also sells a cheaper plan below Pro, Google AI Plus. Claude has no paid plan below Pro.

Each page was read twice on October 17, 2026. The US pages were read by a script and show US dollars. The pages seen from Spain were read by hand in a browser and show euros. The two currencies are kept in separate sections and never converted. The one thing that changes the comparison is tax. Claude’s page says its prices exclude tax, in both countries. Google’s pages, in both countries, do not say either way.

In the United States, in US dollars

Claude’s pricing page prints Pro as “$17 Per month with annual subscription discount ( $200 billed up front). $20 if billed monthly.” and adds: “Prices shown don’t include applicable tax.” Google’s US subscriptions page prints AI Pro as “$19.99 / month Get 4x higher usage access than Free”. It gives one monthly price per plan, with no yearly price, and nothing about tax.

No two plans cost exactly the same, so each row of this table holds one plan, in order of monthly price:

Monthly priceGoogleClaude
$4.99AI Plus, “$4.99 / month Get 2x higher usage access than Free”—
$19.99AI Pro, “$19.99 / month Get 4x higher usage access than Free”—
$20—Pro, “$20 if billed monthly”, or $17 a month billed yearly
$99.99AI Ultra, “$99.99 / month: 5x higher usage limits vs. AI Pro”—
$100—Max, “From $100 Per month”
$199.99AI Ultra, “$199.99 / month: 20x higher usage limits vs. AI Pro”—
$200—Max 20x, “$200 Per month”
Taxnot stated“Prices shown don’t include applicable tax.”

Claude’s Max 20x price comes from Anthropic’s Claude Code page, read on October 19, 2026: the pricing page prints only “From $100 Per month” for Max. Every other figure above was read on October 17.

What can be said about the middle plans holds whatever Google’s tax turns out to be. If Google’s $19.99 includes some tax, AI Pro costs less than $19.99 before tax. If it does not, it costs exactly $19.99. Either way it is at most $19.99 before tax, against $20 for Claude Pro billed monthly. With yearly billing, Claude Pro is $17 a month, paid as $200 up front, and Google’s page does not give enough to set AI Pro against that.

In Spain, in euros

Seen from Spain, Claude’s page prints Pro as “15 € Por mes con descuento de suscripción anual (180 € facturado por adelantado). 18 € si se factura mensualmente.” and says: “Los precios mostrados no incluyen impuestos aplicables.” Google’s page, with its country selector on “España”, prints AI Pro as “€21,99 EUR/mes”, and says nothing about tax.

Monthly priceGoogleClaude
€4.99AI Plus, “€4,99 EUR/mes”—
€18—Pro, “18 € si se factura mensualmente”, or €15 a month billed yearly
€21.99AI Pro, “€21,99 EUR/mes”—
€90—Max, “Desde 90 € Por mes”
€99.99AI Ultra, “€99,99 EUR / mes: límites de uso 5 veces mayores que los de AI Pro”—
€219.99AI Ultra, “€219,99 EUR / mes: límites de uso 20 veces mayores que los de AI Pro”—
Taxnot stated“Los precios mostrados no incluyen impuestos aplicables.”

Here the missing tax does change the answer. Claude Pro is €18 a month before tax. Google AI Pro is at most €21.99 before tax: exactly €21.99 if the price excludes tax, less if it includes some. How much less depends on a tax rate the page never prints, and none is assumed here. So, before tax, AI Pro may cost more or less than Claude Pro, and the pages alone do not settle which. Claude’s page prints no euro price for the 20x option of Max, so there is no €200-level Claude row.

Prices also differ between the two countries for the same Google plan: the 20x level of AI Ultra is $199.99 in the United States and €219.99 in Spain. Neither figure is converted into the other.

What each plan includes, in the pages’ words

Google AI Pro. The US page lists “Access to Gemini 4 Argon”, “Access to our Pro model”, “Higher limits to our asynchronous coding agent for software developers” and “5 TB of cloud storage across Gmail, Drive, and Photos”. Seen from Spain, the page prints “Includes Gemini 4 Argon” above the AI Pro card and describes the plan as “Disfruta de cuatro veces más de uso que con el plan Free”.

Claude Pro. The US page lists “Claude Code”, “More Claude models”, “Hand off and schedule tasks” and “Projects”. Seen from Spain it lists “Más uso*” and “Claude Code” among others. Claude Code, Anthropic’s coding agent, has its own Claude Code page with every plan that includes it. Claude’s pricing page, as read, does not mention cloud storage.

How usage is counted. Google measures its plans against each other: AI Pro gets “4x higher usage access than Free”, and AI Ultra “5x higher usage limits vs. AI Pro” or “20x higher usage limits vs. AI Pro”. Claude does the same: “Pro gives you at least 5x more usage per 5-hour session than Free. Max gives you 5x or 20x more usage per 5-hour session than Pro.” It adds: “Every plan has usage limits that reset on a rolling five-hour session window, and paid plans add weekly limits on top.” A multiple on one page and a multiple on the other are not the same measure, and they are not compared here.

The larger plans. Google’s US page lists “Highest access to our Pro model” for AI Ultra. Claude Max lists “Choose 5x or 20x more usage than Pro*”, “Higher output limits for all tasks” and “$100 to $200/month in API credits to build on the Claude Platform †”.

More comparisons

Every plan of both makers, with its quote and date, is on the Google Gemini subscription page and the Claude subscription page. Each is also compared with ChatGPT in Google AI Pro vs ChatGPT Plus and ChatGPT Plus vs Claude Pro, and the cheapest plan of each maker seen from Spain is in the cheapest AI subscriptions in Spain.

How we checked

Google’s US prices come from gemini.google/us/subscriptions/, read by a script on October 17, 2026. Claude’s US prices come from claude.com/pricing, read by a script the same day, and its Max 20x price from Anthropic’s Claude Code page, read by a script on October 19. The euro prices were read by hand in a browser from Spain on October 17: Google’s gemini.google/subscriptions/ with the country set to “España”, and Claude’s claude.com/es/pricing. Quotes keep the language each page was shown in. Tax is never added or taken out: neither page states an amount of tax. Dollars and euros are never converted. Nothing here says which plan is better: the pages describe different products.

Frequently asked questions

Is Google AI Pro cheaper than Claude Pro?

In the United States, as printed, Google AI Pro is $19.99 a month and Claude Pro $20 billed monthly, one cent apart; before tax, AI Pro is at most $19.99 against $20. In Spain the pages do not settle it: Claude Pro is €18 a month before tax and Google AI Pro €21.99 with tax not stated.

Does Claude Pro include Claude Code?

Yes: Claude's pricing page lists 'Claude Code' among the features of Pro, in the United States and in Spain, as read on October 17, 2026.

Does Google AI Pro include Gemini 4 Argon?

Yes: on October 17, 2026, Google's US subscriptions page listed 'Access to Gemini 4 Argon' in AI Pro, and the page seen from Spain printed 'Includes Gemini 4 Argon' above the AI Pro card.

How much do Google AI Ultra and Claude Max cost?

In the United States, Google AI Ultra is $99.99 or $199.99 a month and Claude Max starts at $100, with its 20x option at $200. In Spain, Ultra is €99.99 or €219.99 and Max starts at €90 before tax.

Written with AI assistance from this site's own verified pricing dataset and reviewed by Álvaro Lucero Rufino, who is responsible for what stays published here. Every figure links to the page where it was verified, with the date it was read; if a number here and a number on that page ever disagree, the page is the one to trust. Automated publishing was discontinued in September 2026; posts that no longer met that standard were removed rather than left up.