Updated
Google AI Pro vs ChatGPT Plus: €21.99 Against €23 in Spain
Short answer. In Spain, Google AI Pro costs €21.99 a month and ChatGPT Plus €23 a month including VAT, both read by hand on October 17, 2026. Google’s page does not say whether tax is included. Each also sells a cheaper plan: Google AI Plus at €4.99 and ChatGPT Go at €8.
In plain words. The two mid-priced plans cost about the same in Spain. ChatGPT’s price includes VAT. Google’s page does not say. Both companies also sell a cheaper plan, and Google AI Plus is the cheapest of the four.
Google and OpenAI both sell a mid-priced AI plan in Spain for a little over €20 a month: Google AI Pro and ChatGPT Plus. Both also sell a cheaper plan below it, Google AI Plus and ChatGPT Go, and a far more expensive one above. The catch for anyone comparing them is tax. OpenAI prints its euro prices with Spanish VAT included and says how much of each price is VAT. Google’s page, seen from Spain, prints euro prices and says nothing about tax. This post sets the plans side by side with that gap left visible, using what each page printed when it was read by hand from Spain on October 17, 2026. Each figure is quoted in full on this site’s Google Gemini and ChatGPT subscription pages.
Where the euro prices come from
Google’s subscriptions page geolocates. Read by a script it serves whatever country the request appears to come from, which is why this site publishes Google’s US dollar prices from gemini.google/us/. The euro prices here were read by hand on gemini.google/subscriptions/ with the country selector set to “España”. An earlier euro figure of €9.99 for Google AI Plus, seen during the planning of this section, came from a different page, one.google.com, read from a different country, Finland; it was never the Spanish price, and it is not used here.
OpenAI’s prices come from its plan window at chatgpt.com, signed in, on the “Personal” tab, which refuses scripted clients and was also read by hand from Spain.
The middle plans
As printed, in Spanish:
Google AI Pro … €21,99 EUR/mes
Plus … €23 / mes (incluye 3,99 € de IVA)
| Plan | Price as printed | Tax on the page | Before VAT |
|---|---|---|---|
| Google AI Pro | €21.99 a month | not stated | unknown |
| ChatGPT Plus | €23 a month | includes €3.99 VAT | €19.01 |
OpenAI’s VAT can be taken out because OpenAI states it: €23.00 minus €3.99 leaves €19.01. Google’s cannot, because Google does not say whether €21.99 contains any tax at all, and this site does not guess a rate the page never prints. That leaves two readings. If €21.99 includes tax, Google AI Pro costs €1.01 a month less than ChatGPT Plus as printed. If it does not, Google AI Pro costs €2.98 a month more than ChatGPT Plus before VAT. The pages alone do not settle which.
In the United States, Google’s page prints “$19.99 / month Get 4x higher usage access than Free” for AI Pro. This site has no US dollar reading of ChatGPT Plus, so there is no dollar comparison to make.
The cheaper plans: AI Plus and Go
| Plan | Price as printed | Tax on the page | Before VAT |
|---|---|---|---|
| Google AI Plus | €4.99 a month | not stated | unknown |
| ChatGPT Go | €8 a month | includes €1.39 VAT | €6.61 |
Google quotes AI Plus as “€4,99 EUR/mes” with “Disfruta del doble de uso que con el plan Free”. OpenAI quotes Go as “€8 / mes (incluye 1,39 € de IVA)”, and the same window says of Go: “Este plan puede incluir anuncios.” ChatGPT Plus, one step up, lists “Sin anuncios”. Google’s page says nothing about advertising in AI Plus.
Here, unlike the middle plans, the missing tax does not change the order before tax. Whatever Google’s tax treatment, AI Plus costs at most €4.99 before tax: exactly €4.99 if the price excludes tax, less if it includes some. Go costs €6.61 before VAT, so before tax AI Plus is at least €1.62 a month cheaper. With tax the pages do not settle it, since Google never prints AI Plus with tax.
Gemini 4 Argon in the plan
The Spanish page opens with a banner, “¿Buscas Gemini 4 Argon? Selecciona AI Pro o AI Ultra abajo para disponer de acceso desde hoy mismo.”, and prints “Includes Gemini 4 Argon”, in English, above AI Pro and both AI Ultra options. The US page carries the same line and adds “Access to Gemini 4 Argon” in the plan details.
Google’s Gemini API pricing page, which prices developer access to the Gemini API, read on October 14, 2026 for this site’s post on Argon’s API price, says “Gemini 4 Argon is not available on the Free tier or on the Google AI Pro plan.” The subscriptions page, which sells the plans for Google’s Gemini app, lists Argon as included in AI Pro on October 17. They are two pages about two different ways of using Gemini; this post quotes both, with their dates, and does not read one into the other. On the API, Argon is priced per token on the Gemini 4 Argon page.
Update, October 19, 2026: Google’s Gemini API pricing page, read again on October 19, 2026, now reads “Note: Gemini 4 Argon is not available on the Free tier.” It no longer mentions AI Pro.
ChatGPT’s Personal tab does not name a model for Plus. It describes “Inteligencia avanzada para tareas complejas” and, for Pro, “Nuestro modelo Pro de vanguardia con mayor capacidad”, without a model name.
The top plans
| Plan | Price as printed | Tax on the page |
|---|---|---|
| Google AI Ultra, 5x | €99.99 a month | not stated |
| Google AI Ultra, 20x | €219.99 a month | not stated |
| ChatGPT Pro | from €103 a month | includes €17.88 VAT |
Google sells Ultra at two published usage levels: “€99,99 EUR / mes: límites de uso 5 veces mayores que los de AI Pro” and “€219,99 EUR / mes: límites de uso 20 veces mayores que los de AI Pro”. OpenAI prints one starting price for Pro, €85.12 before VAT, and says it is “Disponible en 3 niveles de uso” without printing the other two. In the United States, Google’s 20x level is $199.99 a month, while in Spain it is €219.99; this site does not convert one into the other.
Business plans, in dollars even from Spain
Seen from Spain, the “Empresa” tab of Google’s page prints its business editions in US dollars, not euros: “A partir de: 21 US$ por puesto al mes” for the Business edition and “A partir de: 30 US$ por puesto al mes” for the Standard and Plus editions. They are published here in dollars, as shown. OpenAI’s Business seats, read with the selector on “Anual”, are 21 € and 105 € a month per seat, and OpenAI does not say whether those include VAT. A dollar seat and a euro seat are not set against each other here.
Relation to the API
Each subscription is a flat fee with usage limits; the API of each maker bills per token in US dollars. Google’s per-token prices are on Gemini API pricing and OpenAI’s on GPT API pricing. Neither subscription page, as captured, includes API credit.
How this was read
Google’s euro prices: gemini.google/subscriptions/ with the country set to “España”, Personal, Empresa and Desarrollador tabs, read by hand on October 17, 2026, from Spain. Google’s US prices: gemini.google/us/, read the same day by a script. OpenAI’s prices: the ChatGPT plan window, signed in, read by hand on October 17, 2026, from Spain. Quotes keep the language the pages were shown in. Every plan of both makers, with the day it was last checked, is on the AI subscriptions page.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Google AI Pro cost in Spain?
€21.99 a month on gemini.google with the country set to Spain, read by hand on October 17, 2026; the page does not say whether tax is included. On Google's US page it is $19.99 a month.
Which is the cheapest paid plan, Google AI Plus or ChatGPT Go?
Google AI Plus is €4.99 a month in Spain, tax not stated, and ChatGPT Go is €8 a month including €1.39 of VAT, or €6.61 before VAT. Before tax, AI Plus is the cheaper one either way, since its price before tax is at most €4.99.
Do Google AI Pro and Ultra include Gemini 4 Argon?
On October 17, 2026, Google's subscriptions page printed 'Includes Gemini 4 Argon' above AI Pro and AI Ultra, in Spain and in the United States. Google's API pricing page read on October 14, 2026 said Argon was not available on the Google AI Pro plan; that API page prices developer access, while the subscriptions page sells the Gemini app plans; both are quoted with their dates.
Plan pages and other comparisons
- Google Gemini plans and prices
- ChatGPT plans and prices
- ChatGPT Price in Spain: Go €8, Plus €23, Pro €103, €229 or €510
- Mistral Pro (Le Chat) vs ChatGPT Plus: $14.99 or $20
- Microsoft Copilot vs ChatGPT Plus: Price in the US
- Google AI Pro vs Claude Pro: Price in the US and in Spain
- Grok vs ChatGPT: Price in Spain, Plan by Plan
- The Cheapest Paid AI Plans in Spain: From €4.99 a Month
- ChatGPT Plus vs Claude Pro: €19.01 or €18 Before Tax
- Perplexity Pro vs ChatGPT Plus: $17 a Month or €23
Drafted with AI assistance from the cited source and reviewed by Álvaro Lucero Rufino, who is responsible for what stays published here. Automated publishing was discontinued in September 2026; posts that no longer met that standard were removed rather than left up. This is original explanatory writing, not a reproduction — read the source above for the full story.