AI coding tools · OpenAI
OpenAI Codex pricing
Short answer. OpenAI Codex has no separate price. It comes with these ChatGPT plans. The plans: Go $8 a month; Plus $20 a month; Pro from $100 a month; Business $20 a month per seat, billed annually, or $25 a month per seat, billed monthly. Prices in US dollars, tax not stated, read on October 19, 2026.
In plain words. You do not buy OpenAI Codex on its own. You pay for a ChatGPT plan, and it includes OpenAI Codex. This is how OpenAI Codex's page explains the use you get: “Flexibly extend usage with ChatGPT credits”. Past the limit, the page says: “Voice in Desktop uses your existing Codex usage budget at $0.05 per minute.”
The ChatGPT plans that include OpenAI Codex
OpenAI Codex has no price of its own. It comes with these ChatGPT plans. Their prices are on the ChatGPT plans page, where each is quoted with its source.
| Plan | Price | What OpenAI Codex's page says | Read |
|---|---|---|---|
| Go | $8 a month | Use Codex for lightweight coding tasks. | October 19, 2026 |
| Plus | $20 a month | Power a few focused coding sessions each week. | October 19, 2026 |
| Pro | from $100 a month | Choose the Pro plan that fits your usage. | October 19, 2026 |
| Business | $20 a month per seat, billed annually, or $25 a month per seat, billed monthly | Bring Codex into your startup or growing business. | October 19, 2026 |
Prices in US dollars, tax not stated.
How OpenAI Codex counts usage
Flexibly extend usage with ChatGPT credits
Pay for Codex usage based on API pricing
ChatGPT Work and Codex share usage. ChatGPT Work usage inside ChatGPT uses the same pricing, credits, and usage limits as Codex.
The number of messages you can send depends on the model used, size and complexity of your tasks, and whether you run them locally or in the cloud.
Tasks that look similar can consume different amounts of your allowance. Model choice, context, reasoning, tool use, retrieval, and caching all affect usage, so prompt length alone isn’t a reliable estimate.
Local messages and cloud chats share your plan’s usage allowance. Weekly limits may also apply.
Credits are the unit used to pay for eligible usage on credit-based plans. After you reach your included limits, available credits let you continue working.
API token prices are separate from subscription usage; don’t use them to estimate included tasks.
When the included use runs out, the page says: Voice in Desktop uses your existing Codex usage budget at $0.05 per minute.
Limits and terms, in OpenAI Codex's words
Plans at $100, $200, or $500 USD per month
Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit.
ChatGPT Plus and Pro users who reach their usage limit can purchase additional credits to continue working without needing to upgrade their existing plan.
Image generation isn’t available on the Free plan.
Code Review usage applies only when Codex runs reviews through GitHub, for example, when you tag @Codex for review in a pull request or enable automatic reviews on your repository.
What this page does not publish, and why
- Whether tax is included: the page does not say.
- Enterprise and Edu prices: the page says “Contact sales”.
Questions
- How much does OpenAI Codex cost?
- OpenAI Codex is included in these ChatGPT plans: Go $8 a month; Plus $20 a month; Pro from $100 a month; Business $20 a month per seat, billed annually, or $25 a month per seat, billed monthly. Prices in US dollars, read on October 19, 2026.
- Which ChatGPT plan is the cheapest way to get OpenAI Codex?
- Go, at $8 a month. OpenAI Codex's page says of it: "Use Codex for lightweight coding tasks."
- What happens when the OpenAI Codex usage runs out?
- The page says: "Voice in Desktop uses your existing Codex usage budget at $0.05 per minute."
- Does OpenAI Codex's price include tax?
- The page does not say whether tax is included.
Other AI coding tools
Every AI coding tool, side by side →
How we checked
OpenAI's Codex pricing page was read by a script on October 19, 2026: learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing. The page was read from a server in Finland, and it showed US dollars. Every price and line above is quoted from that reading. A test checks each quote against the saved text. Each Monday a script checks that every quote is still on the page. No currency is converted. Credits are quoted as each page defines them, and never compared between tools. AI Signal is not affiliated with OpenAI. How the data is checked.