AI coding tools · GitHub

GitHub Copilot pricing

Short answer. GitHub Copilot's cheapest paid plan is Pro, at $10 a month. Prices in US dollars, tax not stated, read on October 23, 2026.

In plain words. You pay a fixed price each month for the plan. This is how GitHub Copilot's page explains the use you get: “GitHub AI Credits are how you pay for AI usage in GitHub Copilot. Every plan includes a monthly allowance: 1 AI credit = $0.01 USD.” Past the limit, the page says: “Keep working with paid usage. Set a dollar budget for additional usage and Copilot continues without interruption. Credits draw down at $0.01 each, so a $10 budget covers 1,000 credits.”

Every plan and its price

PlanForPrice as printedBillingCredits or usage
Free One person $0 free —
Pro One person $10 per month per month Copilot Pro | $10 USD | 1,000 | 500 | 1,500 |
Pro+ One person $39 per month per month Copilot Pro+ | $39 USD | 3,900 | 3,100 | 7,000 |
Max One person $100 per month per month Copilot Max | $100 USD | 10,000 | 10,000 | 20,000 |
Business Businesses $19 USD per granted seat per month per month, per user Copilot Business | $19 USD | 1,900 |
Enterprise Businesses $39 USD per granted seat per month per month, per user Copilot Enterprise | $39 USD | 3,900 |

The credits column quotes this table of the page: Plan | Price per month | Base credits | Flex allotment | Total monthly AI credits |

Prices in US dollars, tax not stated.

What each plan includes

Free

Pro

Quoted from GitHub's Copilot plans documentation.

Pro+

Quoted from GitHub's Copilot plans documentation.

Max

Quoted from GitHub's Copilot plans documentation.

Business

Quoted from GitHub's Copilot plans documentation.

Enterprise

Quoted from GitHub's Copilot plans documentation.

How GitHub Copilot counts usage

When the included use runs out, the page says: Keep working with paid usage. Set a dollar budget for additional usage and Copilot continues without interruption. Credits draw down at $0.01 each, so a $10 budget covers 1,000 credits.

Limits and terms, in GitHub Copilot's words

What this page does not publish, and why

Questions

What is the cheapest paid GitHub Copilot plan?
Pro, at $10 a month, tax not stated, as GitHub's Copilot plans page printed it on October 23, 2026.
Is there a free GitHub Copilot plan?
Yes: Free. The page lists it with "Free plan Limited chat and agent usage".
What happens when the GitHub Copilot usage runs out?
The page says: "Keep working with paid usage. Set a dollar budget for additional usage and Copilot continues without interruption. Credits draw down at $0.01 each, so a $10 budget covers 1,000 credits."
Does GitHub Copilot's price include tax?
The page does not say whether tax is included.

Other AI coding tools

How we checked

GitHub's Copilot plans page was read by a script on October 23, 2026: github.com/features/copilot/plans. Also GitHub's Copilot plans documentation, the same day. The page was read from a server in Finland, and it showed US dollars. Every price and line above is quoted from that reading. A test checks each quote against the saved text. Each Monday a script checks that every quote is still on the page. No currency is converted. Credits are quoted as each page defines them, and never compared between tools. AI Signal is not affiliated with GitHub. How the data is checked.